The University International Travel Committee (UITC) was established in 2010 by then-Provost Paul DeLuca.  It is currently charged with the following tasks:

  • Review requests for waiver to the “Travel Resources, Guidelines and Policies” regarding student travel abroad;
  • Assist in the administration and periodic review of the “International Travel Resources, Guidelines and Policies” document and in the development of additional guidelines, policies, and resources regarding international travel for UW-Madison students, staff and faculty;
  • Help disseminate information about resources for international travel, such as international travel insurance and emergency assistance;
  • Support and provide guidance to the International Safety & Security Director in his role;
  • Develop processes to identify students, faculty, and staff who are traveling abroad under university auspices;
  • Provide recommendations regarding university travel in cases of international crises

The International Safety and Security Director (ISSD) serves as the executive officer to the UITC.

Current UITC Members (2016-17):

Dan Gold, co-chair (Director, International Academic Programs)

Jolanda Vanderwal Taylor, co-chair  (Professor of Dutch and German, Dept of German, Nordic and Slavic)

  • Katie Block, Academic Services Coordinator, Graduate School
  • Lisa Chambers, Interim Director of International Student Services, Division of Student Life
  • Jim Conway, Professor of Pediatrics-Infectious Diseases, Global Health Institute, SMPH
  • Maj Fischer, Director, International Internship Program, The International Division
  • Maggie Hawkins, Professor, Curriculum & Instruction, School of Education
  • Eden Inoway-Ronnie, Chief of Staff, Office of the Provost
  • Jeffrey Karcher, Director, Risk Management, Business Services
  • Neil Kodesh, Associate Professor of History, L&S
  • Connie Kraus, Professor, School of Pharmacy
  • Julie Lindsey, Associate Director, International Academic Programs
  • Will Lipske, Office of the Registrar
  • Sarah Pfatteicher, Associate Dean, CALS
  • John Pfotenhauer, Professor, School of Engineering
  • Kathryn Sanchez, Professor of Spanish and Portuguese, L&S
  • Katie Tollefson, International Faculty & Staff Services, Office of Human Resources
  • Sachin Tuli, Faculty Director, International Programs, Wisconsin School of Business
  • Sarah Van Orman, Executive Director, University Health Services